After just coming off the biggest win in their rugby league history, Ma’a Tonga have today extended an invitation to one of their nation’s greatest enemies, prominent blackface comedian Chris Lilley.

Following a thrilling 28-22 win over New Zealand, the momentum behind the proud Island nation has seen their status as a middling international rugby league contender shift into a potential top 5 ranking.

Today, with full sign off from their coach, Mt Isa boy Kristian Woolf, the team has offered Chris Lilley the chance to take part in a #RunItStraightChallenge – after years of profiling and stereotyping their culture.

Brad Fittler spoke to the Betoota Advocate earlier today about the controversial challenge.

“The people of Tonga have told me they would be much happier about Chris Lilley’s ‘Jonah From Tonga’ character if they knew that he could take it as well as he dishes it out” said Woolf.

“If he wants to take the piss out of at-risk teenage kids, he’s gonna have to deal with the big boys as well”

“We’ll pick our smallest, and you run it first”

The #RunItStraightChallenge rose to prominence in late 2016 as a social media trend aimed at sorting the boys from the men in regional rugby league circles. The idea being that two fully grown men run as fast as they can at one another to emulate a match tackle.

It is not yet known if Chris Lilley is willing to take part in the challenge, as he was unavailable for comment due to the fact that he is currently filming a new series about a gay zombie Anzac.

Tonga will play Lebanon at Christchurch Stadium this Saturday at 3pm (AEDT)

Tonga squad: 1. Will Hopoate 2. Daniel Tupou 3. Michael Jennings 4. Konrad Hurrell 5. David Fusitu’a 6. Tui Lolohea 7. Ata Hingano 8. Andrew Fifita 9. Sione Katoa 10. Sio Siua Taukeiaho 11. Manu Ma’u 12. Sika Manu (c) 13. Jason Taumalolo 14. Siliva Havili 15. Sam Moa 16. Tevita Pangai Jnr. 17. Ben Murdoch-Masila 18. Ukama Ta’ai 19. Joe Ofahengaue 20. Mahe Fonua 21. Samisoni Langi

Lebanon squad: 1. Anthony Layoun 2. Travis Robinson 3. James Elias 4. Adam Doueihi 5. Abbas Miski 6. Mitchell Moses 7. Robbie Farah (c) 8. Tim Mannah 9. Michael Lichaa 10. Alex Twal 11. Nick Kassis 12. Ahmad Ellaz 13. Jamie Clark 14. Mitchell Mamary 15. Ray Moujalli 16. Elias Sukkar 17. Jason Wehbe 18. Andrew Kazzi 19. Chris Saab 20. Bilal Maarbani


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here